# The Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners Board Meeting Minutes October 29, 2010

The regular meeting of the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners was held on October 29, 2010, at 100 North Union Street, Suite 736 in Montgomery, Alabama with chairman and secretary present. Board chairman, Teresa Young, called the meeting to order at 9:35 a. m.

There was a quorum of members present including:

District V member Teresa Young - Board Chair

District III member Leisa Askew- Board Secretary

District IV member Paula Johnson

District II member Janet Rawls

District VI member Mandy Andrews

Executive Director Brenda Holden was also present as well as Ellen Leonard. Unless otherwise specified, all votes were taken by a show of hands. Proper notice for the meeting was provided to the Secretary of State and posted on the Secretary of State website.

Ms. Teresa Young, Board Chair welcomed visitor Jerry Satterwhite to the meeting.

### **Approval of Minutes:**

A copy of the minutes from September 10, 2010 Board Meeting was distributed and reviewed. Paula Johnson made a motion to approve minutes as they stand. Mandy Andrews seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

#### Old Board Business:

a. Election of Officers - Ms. Teresa Young acknowledged two Board members were not present at the meeting, James Ware and Sharon Argiro. The position of secretary was addressed. Paula Johnson nominated Mandy Andrews as secretary. Leisa Askew seconded the nomination. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews. Ms. Mandy Andrews will serve as the Secretary of the Board for 2010-2011. Ms. Young addressed the Board Vice Chair position. Mandy Andrews nominated Paula Johnson for this position. Leisa Askew seconded the nomination. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews. Ms. Paula Johnson will serve as the Board Vice Chair for 2010-2011. Ms. Teresa Young addressed the Board Chair position. Paula Johnson nominated Leisa Askew as Board Chair. Mandy Andrews seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula

- Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews. Leisa Askew will serve as Board Chair for 2010-2011. The upcoming Annual Meeting was discussed. The board unanimously supports Leisa Askew being Board Delegate at the 2010 Fall Annual Meeting in New Orleans.
- b. Ms. Holden reported that since the last Board meeting there is one open complaint case, two cases resolved, one complaint pending and received updated information requested.
- c. The Board reviewed and approved the list of new social work licensees.
- d. The Board reviewed Ms. Renita Davis' requested letters of reference. Paula Johnson made a motion to allow Ms. Davis to sit for the LGSW test. Janet Rawls seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews.

#### **New Board Business:**

- a. Ms. Brenda Holden will speak at the ASWB Annual Meeting in New Orleans on November 11, 2010. Ms. Mandy Andrews reported that she is on the Professional Advisory Committee for University of Montevallo Social Work Department.
- b. The Board approved the invitation for exhibit at the ACSW Conference February 23-25, 2011.
- c. The Board reviewed and discussed the issue of Clinical Diagnosis statement.
- d. The Receipts and Expenditures Report was reviewed and discussed by the Board.
- e. Ms. Daniella Barron requested to address the Board. Ms. Teresa Young introduced the Board and welcomed her. Ms. Paula Johnson made a motion to go into executive session for 15 minutes to discuss the good name and charter of Ms. Barron. Leisa Askew seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews. Ms. Teresa Young, Board Chair called executive session at 10:33. Janet Rawls made a motion to close executive session. Leisa Askew seconded the nomination. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews. Leisa Askew made a motion for Ms. Daniella Barron to sit for her LBSW exam with the understanding if she passes, to provide a quarterly report from Dr. Linten for one year. Paula Johnson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously by Teresa Young, Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Janet Rawls, and Mandy Andrews.

Ms. Teresa Young called a recess at 10:50 for ten minutes.

Ms. Teresa Young called the Board meeting back to order at 11:03.

## **PIP Applications:**

- a. Mandi R. Fowler was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social Work. She was denied Community Organization, Social Work Research and Social Work Administration.
- Mylesa M. Weatherford was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social Work.
- c. Iva H. Reed was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social Work.
- d. Shannon M. Polson was approved for Social Work Research.
- e. Nathan A. Crowell was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social Work.
- f. Suzanne S. Diamond was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social Work.

#### Other Request:

- a. The Board reviewed and discussed INR request for approval for Diabetes, Obesity & Heart Disease. The Board denied approval.
- b. The Board reviewed Sharron Johnson request for "Culture Stick". The Board denied approval.
- c. A letter was reviewed and discussed from an LBSW requesting Board's opinion on HIV testing being done by social workers. The Boards opinion is: performing this duty will not put your social work license at risk.

The next Board meeting is scheduled for December 3, 2010 in the Board Conference Room. Leisa Askew made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mandy Andrews seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously and meeting adjourned at 11:58 p. m.

Board Chair	Board Secretary	
Teresa Young	Leisa Askew	