# The Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners Board Meeting Minutes December 16, 2011

The regular meeting of the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners was held on December 16, 2011, at 100 North Union Street, Suite 736 in Montgomery, Alabama with chairman and secretary present.

Board Chair, Paula Johnson, called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.

There was a quorum of members present including:
District IV representative Paula Johnson- Board Chair
District III representative Leisa Askew - Vice-Chair
District VI representative Mandy Andrews- Board Secretary
District I representative Sharon Argiro
District II representative - Vacant
District V representative Esophia Clayborn
District VII representative James Ware

Ellen Leonard, Attorney for the Board, arrived at 9:08 a.m. and was present for the rest of the meeting.

Unless otherwise specified, all votes were taken by a show of hands. Proper notice for the meeting was provided to the Secretary of State and posted on the Secretary of State website.

## **Approval of Minutes:**

A copy of the minutes from the November 16, 2011 Board Meeting was distributed and reviewed. Leisa Askew made a motion to approve the minutes as they stand. Esophia Clayborn seconded the motion. Voting in favor of the motion: Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Mandy Andrews, and Esophia Clayborn. Opposing the motion: None. Abstaining from the vote: James Ware and Sharon Argiro.

### Old Board Business:

a. Ellen Leonard reported there has been no change in the status of complaints since the last meeting.

The Board reviewed and discussed the Recommendation of the Administrative Law Judge submitted in the matter of Fay M. Barfield.

James Ware made a motion to accept the recommendation of the hearing officer. Leisa Askew seconded the motion. Voting in favor of the motion: James Ware. Opposing the motion: Sharon Argiro, Leisa

Askew, and Mandy Andrews. Abstaining from the vote: Paula Johnson and Esophia Clayborn.

Sharon Argiro made a motion that Ms. Barfield be reprimanded and fined \$250 for failure to transfer records. Mandy Andrews seconded the motion. Mandy Andrews made a friendly amendment to the motion requiring Ms. Barfield to also complete an additional ten (10) hours of CE in Ethics within the next six (6) months. Leisa Askew seconded the amendment. Ms. Argiro accepted the amendment. Voting in favor of the amended motion: Sharon Argiro, Leisa Askew, Mandy Andrews. Opposing the motion: James Ware. Abstaining from the vote: Paula Johnson and Esophia Clayborn.

b. The Board reviewed and approved the list of new social work licensees. Leisa Askew made a motion to accept the list of new social work licensees. Esophia Clayborn seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

#### **New Board Business:**

- a. Board members provided updates on invitations to speak. James Ware spoke at the ACSW Meeting on December 9 regarding the LCSW Diagnosis statement.
- b. Interviews for the Executive Director position were held from 10:30 a.m. until 3:45 p.m.

## **PIP Applications:**

a. Leisa Askew made a motion to table review of PIP applications until the December 21 meeting. Sharon Argiro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

## Other Requests:

- a. The Board reviewed and discussed Cameshia L. Bailey-Mayes' request for reciprocity of her LGSW. Leisa Askew made a motion to approve the request. Esophia Clayborn seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- b. The Board reviewed and discussed Chelcey Myrick's request regarding repeating LBSW supervision. Mandy Andrews made a motion that Ms. Myrick complete fifteen (15) months of supervision in her current job. James Ware seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- c. The Board reviewed, discussed, and approved Gerald Roy's request to count two college courses as CE for a total of 40 hours CE.
- d. The Board reviewed, discussed, and approved a CE request from INR for "The Tranquil Brain: Mood Swings, Hormones, and Stress".

e. The Board reviewed and discussed Jami Eckle Hopper's request for a CE waiver. Sharon Argiro made a motion to grant Ms. Hopper a one-time CE waiver. Leisa Askew seconded the motion. Voting in favor of the motion: James Ware, Sharon Argiro, Leisa Askew, and Paula Johnson. Opposing the motion: Mandy Andrews. Abstaining from the vote: Esophia Clayborn.

The Board recessed for a break at 10:17 a.m. The Board reconvened at 10:30 a.m. to conduct interviews for the Executive Director position.

Paula Johnson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 3:54 p.m. James Ware seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

The next Board meeting is scheduled for December 21, 2011 at 9:30 AM in the Board Conference Room.

Board Chair Board Secretary

Paula Johnson Mandy Andrews