The Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners Board Meeting Minutes December 3, 2010

The regular meeting of the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners was held on December 3, 2010, at 100 North Union Street, Suite 736 in Montgomery, Alabama with chairman and secretary present.

Board chairman, Leisa Askew, called the meeting to order at 9:38 a.m.

There was a quorum of members present including:
District III member Leisa Askew - Board Chair
District VI member Mandy Andrews- Board Secretary
District I member Sharon Argiro
District II member William Wright
District V member Esophia Clayborn
District VII member James Ware

Executive Director Brenda Holden was present, as well as, Assistant Attorney General Ellen Leonard.

Unless otherwise specified, all votes were taken by a show of hands. Proper notice for the meeting was provided to the Secretary of State and posted on the Secretary of State website.

Approval of Minutes:

A copy of the minutes from October 29, 2010 Board Meeting was distributed and reviewed. Mandy Andrews made a motion to approve minutes as they stand. James Ware seconded the motion. Voting in favor of the motion: Leisa Askew, William Wright, Mandy Andrews. Opposing the motion: none. Abstaining from the vote: James Ware, Sharon Argiro, and Esophia Clayborn. The minutes were approved.

Old Board Business:

- a. Ms. Brenda Holden reported that since the last Board meeting there are two open complaint cases, three cases resolved, one complaint pending with updated information requested.
- b. The Board reviewed and approved the list of new social work licensees. James Ware made a motion to accept the list of new social work licensees. Esophia Clayborn seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

New Board Business:

- a. Mr. James Ware reported that he spoke, in November, at the University of Alabama, School of Social Work Distance Education Advisory Board Meeting in Montgomery, AL and the Association of Alabama Department of Human Resources County Directors Meeting in Orange Beach, AL regarding questions about potential changes to the licensure law to allow LCSWs to make mental health diagnoses.
- b. Ms. Leisa Askew, Board Chair, welcomed new members, Esophia Clayborn and William Wright to the Board.
- c. The Board reviewed and discussed the Clinical Diagnosis statement.
- d. Ms. Kathy Blasingame requested Alabama reciprocity of her Texas license. The board agreed that once confirmation is received, from Texas, that Ms. Blasingame is licensed in good standing Ms. Holden can approve reciprocity.

Ms. Leisa Askew called a recess at 10:54 for ten minutes. Ms. Leisa Askew called the Board meeting back to order at 11:06.

PIP Applications:

- a. Choya R. Wise was approved for Social Casework, Clinical Social Work, and Social Work Administration
- b. Shana G. Thomas was denied Clinical Social Work, Community Organization and Social Work Administration.
- c. Terri Stutts Whalen was approved for Clinical Social Work.

Other Request:

- a. The Board reviewed and discussed a request from Sheila Ann Daniels for a 4.75 hour CE waiver. James Ware made a motion for a one-time CE waiver for 4.75 hours. Sharon Argiro seconded the motion. Voting for the motion: Sharon Argiro, Leisa Askew, Esophia Clayborn, James Ware, William Wright. Opposing the motion: Mandy Andrews.
- b. The Board reviewed and discussed a request from Cheryl Waites seeking CE approval for a program she will be attending. Sharon Argiro made a motion to deny Ms. Waites' request as it does not meet the criteria of a self-directed learning project as described in Chapter 850-X-8-.01(5)(g) of the Alabama Board of Social Work Examiners Administrative Code. James Ware seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.
- c. The Board reviewed and discussed a request by Deborah McClenton for refund of the licensure application fee. James Ware made a motion to approve the refund. Esophia Clayborn seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The next Board meeting is scheduled for January 21, 2011 at 9:30 AM in the Board Conference Room. James Ware made a motion to adjourn the meeting. William Wright seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously and meeting adjourned at 12:13 PM.

Board Chair Board Secretary

Leisa Askew Mandy Andrews