# The Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners Board Meeting Minutes July 28, 2011

The regular meeting of the Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners was held on July 28, 2011, at 100 North Union Street, Suite 736 in Montgomery, Alabama with chairman and secretary present.

Board Chair, Leisa Askew, called the meeting to order at 11:21 a.m.

There was a quorum of members present including:
District III representative Leisa Askew - Board Chair
District IV representative Paula Johnson - Vice-Chair
District VI representative Mandy Andrews- Board Secretary
District I representative Sharon Argiro
District II representative William Wright
District V representative Esophia Clayborn
District VII representative James Ware

Executive Director Brenda Holden was present for the entire meeting. Ellen Leonard, Attorney for the Board, was present from the beginning of the meeting until 12:57 PM.

NOTE: This Board meeting was originally scheduled for July 22, 2011 at 9:30 AM. The meeting was rescheduled for July 28, 2011 to facilitate Board Member attendance at the Sunset Committee Hearing set for the same day.

Unless otherwise specified, all votes were taken by a show of hands. Proper notice for the meeting was provided to the Secretary of State and posted on the Secretary of State website.

#### **Approval of Minutes:**

A copy of the minutes from the May 20, 2011 Board Meeting was distributed and reviewed. Paula Johnson made a motion to approve the minutes as they stand. James Ware seconded the motion. The minutes were approved unanimously.

### **Old Board Business:**

- a. Ms. Brenda Holden reported that there are four open complaints. One complaint is on appeal.
- b. The Board reviewed and approved the list of new social work licensees. James Ware made a motion to accept the list of new social work licensees. William Wright seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

- c. The Board reviewed ASWB's recommendation not to recognize the Advanced Generalist Exam for certified social workers effective January 1, 2012. James Ware made a motion that the Board no longer accept the Advanced Generalist Exam, administered after January 1, 2012, for the LCSW level. Sharon Argiro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- d. The Board reviewed and discussed the Board's 2011 and 2012 budget and Sunset Audit report. Paula Johnson made a motion to increase the licensure renewal fees, effective January 1, 2012, to \$85.00 and, effective January 1, 2014, to \$100.00. The motion includes the creation of a sub-committee, consisting of James Ware, Sharon Argiro, and Brenda Holden, to develop proposed wording for the Administrative Code. William Wright seconded the motion. Voting for the motion: Leisa Askew, Paula Johnson, Mandy Andrews, William Wright, Esophia Clayborn, and James Ware. Abstaining from the vote: Sharon Argiro.

#### **New Board Business:**

- a. There were no updates regarding speaking engagements by Board members.
- b. See Old Board Business, Item d.

## **PIP Applications:**

- a. Karen C. Blackwood was approved for Community Organization.
- Vanessa S. Huggins was approved for Social Casework and Social Work Administration. Her request for Clinical Social Work and Community Organization was denied.
- c. Lillie P. McLemore was approved for Clinical Social Work. Her request for Social Casework was denied.
- d. Ellen Hitchcock was approved for Clinical Social Work.
- e. Jane M. Nichols was approved for Social Casework and Clinical Social
- f. Sarah Strength was approved Social Casework and Clinical Social Work. Her request for Social Work Administration was denied.
- g. Melinda L. Lewis was approved Social Casework, Clinical Social Work, and Social Work Administration. Her request for Community Organization and Social Work Research was denied.
- h. Donna McCarley was approved Clinical Social Work. Her request for Social Work Administration and Social Casework was denied.

#### Other Requests:

a. The Board discussed a request from Paula Clark. Sharon Argiro made a motion that the Board's Executive Director follow-up with Ms. Clark's

- supervisor regarding the request. James Ware seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- b. The Board reviewed and discussed a request from Cary Grant regarding CE approval for his doctoral dissertation. Sharon Argiro made a motion that the Board approve CE for courses that fall into Mr. Grant's two-year license cycle. William Wright seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- c. The Board reviewed and discussed Michael Johnson's request for an opinion on his approach to social work practice. The Board's Executive Director will respond to Mr. Johnson's request.
- d. The Board reviewed and discussed INR's request to approve CE for a workshop titled "Conquering Pain". The request was denied.
- e. The Board reviewed and discussed David Brian Witt's request for licensure reinstatement. James Ware made a motion to deny Mr. Witt's request. Sharon Argiro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- f. The Board reviewed and discussed John Groppenbacher's application for reciprocity. James Ware made a motion to accept, from Mr. Groppenbacher, verification of supervision from a medical doctor. Sharon Argiro seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- g. The Board reviewed and discussed Nicole D. Boomhover's request to reinstate her PIP Certification. Sharon Argiro made a motion to deny Ms. Boomhover's request. James Ware seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.
- h. The Board reviewed and discussed Mary Schappell's request to count CE hours attained during grace period. Mandy Andrews made a motion to deny Ms. Schappell's request. Paula Johnson seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

The Board recessed for a 5-10 minute break at 1:51 PM. The Board came back into session at 1:58 PM.

Paula Johnson made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 2:35 PM. Mandy Andrews seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

The next Board meeting is scheduled for September 15, 2011 at 9:30 AM in the Board Conference Room.

Board Chair Board Secretary

Leisa Askew Mandy Andrews